KOEXISTENCY / Quasars Ensemble


An attempt to reconcile current interpersonal relations or to address the “coexistence” of different string instruments, which requires overcoming many obstacles for a positive outcome? This is how Dušan Martinček once reflected on the motives behind the creation of his breathtaking masterpiece entitled Coexistences, and even today this apt characterisation has lost none of its relevance.

The name of Dušan Martinček, as well as that of his younger colleague Jozef Podprocký, similarly stuck in the intergenerational space between the avant-garde and the postmodern, is associated above all with the symbiosis of respect for tradition with a quite natural ability to accept current stimuli from the world of experimental music. Their two works for strings were written for two exceptional violinists – while Coexistence was directed to the outstanding Austrian composer and violinist (member of the Vienna Philharmonic) René Staar, Podprocký’s Concertino, Op. 11 was addressed to the legendary master Bohdan Warchal. Ivan Parik’s Sonata for Violin is also part of a unique cycle for solo instruments, which can undoubtedly be considered a worthy pendant to Luciano Berio’s famous Sequenza cycle. Victory Boogie-Woogie, on the other hand, is an attempt at a musical rendering of the colour blocks punctuated by the lines of Modriano’s legendary last painting of the same name, created by Northern Irish-born Belfast composer Piers Hellawell through modally shaped rhythmic structures intended for the piano duo. After all, all four composers were somehow destined to be visual artists…



Ivan Parik – Sonata for solo violin
Piers Hellawell – Victory Boogie-Woogie for two pianos
Jozef Podprocký – Concertino for Violin and String Quintet, Op. 11
Dušan Martinček – Coexistenzas for string quintet

Quasars Ensemble
Ivan Buffa, conductor, piano
Diana Buffa, piano
Peter Mosorjak, violin

12 € / adults
6 € / students, seniors, disabled


On-site sales 1 hour before the concert.

Program and performers subject to change.
Discounts: 50% discount on the ticket is valid for pensioners, students and disabled persons upon presentation of the appropriate ID card.


The concert is supported from public funds by the Fund for the Support of the Arts. With the financial support of the Bratislava Self-Governing Region, the Bratislava City Foundation, the Music Fund and SOZA.

Find all tips for the EVENTS IN BRATISLAVA.


Slovak Radio Building, Mýtna, Bratislava, Slovensko


6-12 EUR

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.